Club history

Arsenal Ladies FC were formed in 1987 by Vic Akers, who enjoyed a 22-year stint as manager of the Club prior to moving upstairs to a general manager role in 2009.

Under Akers, the Gunners collected a stunning 33 major trophies - including a domestic and European quadruple in 2007. His total haul included a UEFA Women’s Cup, three domestic trebles, 12 Premier League titles, 10 FA Cups and 10 League Cups. It was a remarkable set of achievements that cemented Arsenal Ladies as the foremost women’s football club in this country.

At present the Ladies have won 38 trophies in their 25-year history.

None of this could have happened without the outstanding backing and support of Arsenal Football Club itself, though. Clare Wheatley, Faye White and Angela Cuerden are employed solely to develop and co-ordinate the Club’s female side.

Arsenal’s most decorated year was undoubtedly the 2006/07 season when they secured the historic quadruple

Arsenal’s most decorated year was undoubtedly the 2006/07 season when they secured the historic quadruple to mark their 20th anniversary. The Ladies became the first British team to win the UEFA Women’s Cup, beating Swedish side Umea 1-0 over a two-legged final.

The 2011 season was a groundbreaking one for the Gunners, and for the women’s game in general. It was the inaugural year of the Women’s Super League (WSL), which Arsenal Ladies won after fighting out a close battle with Birmingham City and perennial rivals Everton. There was further success in 2012 when the Ladies won the WSL yet again and the Continental Cup for the second time in two years.

In 2013 the Gunners failed to defend their WSL title in 2013 but went on to  reach the semi final in the UEFA Women’s Champions League, and win the FA Cup for a record 12th time and the Continental Cup for the third straight year in a row. 

As well as an all-conquering first team, Arsenal Ladies also comprises a Development Squad and Centre of Excellence teams at U17, U15, U13 and U9. Last season the U17 squad were FA National U17 Cup Winners.

Arsenal Ladies Information

Formed 1987

Members Women's Super League

FA Reserve Section

General Manager Vic Akers

First-Team Manager Shelley Kerr

Secretary Clare Wheatley

Treasurer Clare Wheatley

Club Captain Kelly Smith

Vice Captain TBC

Technical Director - Centre of Excellence - John Bayer

1st Team Physios - George Labor, Kim Burnett

1st Team Doctors - Ges Steinbergs, Jo Price

Centre of Excellence Physios - Emma Lennox, Kim Burnett, Maria Pieri

Centre of Excellence Sports Therapists - Nicola Farmer, Katie Ladd



England Seniors

Rachel Yankey

Kelly Smith

Alex Scott

Jordan Nobbs (& 23's)

Casey Stoney

Siobhan Chamberlain

Danielle Carter

England U23's

Jade Bailey

Dan Carter

Bianca Bragg

Freda Ayisi

England U19's

Bianca Bragg

Jade Bailey

England U15 & U17

Many of our players from the centre of excellence also represent England at U15 and U17.


Emma Byrne

Niamh Fahey


Caroline Weir

Emma Mitchell

Christie Murray


Anouk Hoogendijk

Club Sponsors

Arsenal Football Club

Fly Emirates

Additional Sponsors


Share your favourite Arsenal Ladies FC memories

Club Honours


2012, 2011

Continental Cup

2013 2012 2011

FA Womens Cup

2013 2011 2009 2008 2007 2006 2004 2001 1999 1998 1995 1993
Runners up:

UEFA Women's Cup


FA Women's Premier

2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2002, 2001, 1997, 1995, 1993.

FA Womens PL Cup

2009 2007 2005 2001 2000 1999 1998 1994 1993 1992

Community Shield

2007/2008 2006/2007 2005/2006 2001/2002 1999/2000

London CFA Cup

2010 2009 2008 2007 2004 2000 1997 1996 1995

Contact us

Arsenal Ladies - General Enquiries

01727 747452

Club Secretary - Enquiries - Angela Murphy

01727 747452

Centre of Excellence (U9-U17) - John Bayer - Technical Director

Sponsorship Enquiries

01727 747452

Press & Media Enquiries - Tom Bennett

0207 704 4016

Show your support

Ladies on twitter

All the latest news on the Team and the players!